This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

FREE SHIPPING Ontario on your $50+ Books-Only Order! *** Free Shipping Canada-Wide on your $100+ Books-Only order!

Les Roses du Bengale - 6 Valses Sentimentales for Piano


Temporarily out of stock but you can still order this item. Typically ships within 6-8 business days, or we will contact you with an estimated ship date.

Series: BH Piano
Publisher: Bote & Bock
Format: Softcover
Composer: Jacques Offenbach
Editor: Jean-Christophe Keck

Les Roses du Bengale are part of a whole series of dances for piano from the quill of the young Jacques Offenbach (1819-1880). Unfortunately, little is known about their genesis. It is quite likely that these six lyrical waltzes were composed at different points of time, and their creation occasioned by various events, before being joined together into a collection for publication. Each piece is dedicated to a particular dedicatee (a rose) who stems from the Parisian nobility: Clémence de Reiset, Herminie de Alcain (the future Madame Offenbach), Virginie de Bletterie, Emilie de Giresse, Léonie de Vernon, and Ursule de Beaumont. A pretty bouquet to which the only twenty-year-old composer was certainly not indifferent. For him, it was surely also a means of attaining a special place in the fashionable salons into which he had been introduced by his friend Friedrich von Flotow. The cycle was published by Editions Henri Lemoine. We do not know the exact year of publication, which however certainty was in the early 1840s. In their delicacy, their inventiveness, and richness of contrast, these waltzes were surely intended for an intimate soiree, and not for a ball like numerous other of Offenbach's waltzes that were composed for the Jardin Turc, the Concerts Musard, or the Concerts Jullien. For that matter, orchestral versions are not known for any of the six waltzes of this collection. Only of the first waltz did Offenbach make a version for small ensemble, presumably for performance in a Parisian salon, for two violins, violoncello, and piano. The untitled manuscript is still found today in the archive of the Offenbach family, as is also the autograph of the Valse tyrolienne no. 2, composed on 11 July 1842 and originally titled “Une fleur, valse simple – Pensée musicale composée pour l'anniversaire de la naissance de Mlle Herminie de Alcain, par Jacques Offenbach” (“a flower, simple waltz – a musical thought composed for the birthday of Mademoiselle Herminie de Alcain by Jacques Offenbach”).

Les Roses du Bengale - 6 Valses Sentimentales for Piano

Shipping Info

Shipping services

We do our best to get your order out the door same day when it is in stock. If an item is out of stock, you will see it indicated on the product page before you add it to your cart, or you will be contacted. Most often, we ship with Canada Post but sometimes other carriers like FedEx or UPS are used. If your method of shipping is eligible for a tracking number, this will be emailed to you.

Return policy

We do not offer refunds but may be able to do an exchange or store credit with 14 days of your shipment's arrival. Our full return policy can be found by clicking the link "Shipping & Return Policy" at the bottom of the page.

Get in touch

Contact with any questions about our shipping services.


No more products available for purchase

Your Cart is Empty