Games for Piano – Volume 9

Games for Piano – Volume 9

Department: Books

SKU: 210788


Temporarily out of stock, with more on the way. Typically ships within 6-8 business days.

(Spiele, Jatekok 9)
Series: EMB
Publisher: Editio Musica Budapest
Format: Softcover
Composer: György Kurtág

The piano series entitled Games, written from 1973 onwards, was conceived originally as a piano method. Its early volumes introduced children to the basic elements in piano-playing and musical thinking, and, more importantly still, taught them to play music without inhibitions. As the years went by, the view of the series lost its didactic character. It came to be seen as a document from Kurtág's workshop, offering a key to his grander symphonic, chamber and vocal works as well. This change is exemplified in the subtitle Diary entries, personal messages added from the fifth volume onwards.

The pieces in the ninth volume date from 1989-2009, except the youthful Apple blossom, written in 1947. The movements, often aphorismic in their briefness, conceal associations with various aspects of European music history. Many of them are hommage or in memoriam pieces, or subjective personal messages to friends, colleagues, beloved family members or students, and thereby to all music-loving people.