This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

Now selling PRS Guitars! *** FREE SHIPPING Ontario on your $50+ Books-Only Order! *** Free Shipping Canada-Wide on your $100+ Books-Only order!

Dvorak, A. - Violin Concerto in A minor Op. 53


Dvorák composed this concerto at his publisher's suggestion. He drafted it relatively swiftly in summer 1879, but completing it was a more drawn-out process that lasted until 1882. He had the famous violinist Joseph Joachim look over the violin part, and also dedicated the concerto to him. But Joachim's suggestions resulted in numerous reworkings, and he ultimately lost interest in the work. As a result, the world premiere was given by the Czech violinist Frantisek Ondrícek. This formally unusual work begins and ends with a sonata rondo, and adopts a Slavic tone throughout. After a lyrical middle movementit closes with lively Czech dance rhythms. This Urtext edition draws on both the autograph and on the first editions of the score, solo part and piano reduction. The solo parthas been marked up by one of the concerto's most knowledgeable exponents, world-famous violinist Augustin Hadelich.

Dvorak, A. - Violin Concerto in A minor Op. 53

$37.95 CAD
Shipping Info

Shipping services

We do our best to get your order out the door same day when it is in stock. If an item is out of stock, you will see it indicated on the product page before you add it to your cart, or you will be contacted. Most often, we ship with Canada Post but sometimes other carriers like FedEx or UPS are used. If your method of shipping is eligible for a tracking number, this will be emailed to you.

Return policy

We do not offer refunds but may be able to do an exchange or store credit with 14 days of your shipment's arrival. Our full return policy can be found by clicking the link "Shipping & Return Policy" at the bottom of the page.

Get in touch

Contact with any questions about our shipping services.


No more products available for purchase

Your Cart is Empty