This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

Now selling PRS Guitars! *** FREE SHIPPING Ontario on your $50+ Books-Only Order! *** Free Shipping Canada-Wide on your $100+ Books-Only order!

Bach: 6 Cello Suites, BWV 1007-1012


When you think cello, you think of Bach's immortal cello suites.

Appropriately and not surprisingly there are countless editions of the suites. But the composer's autograph has not come down to us. It is lost and this circumstance has always been a major challenge for editors. The four surviving handwritten sources and the original first edition of 1824 differ in many details, the articulation and phrasing being particularly ambiguous.

In this new edition, Andrew Talle has fundamentally reassessed the relations between the surviving sources and has drawn conclusions regarding their evaluation and consequently the genesis of the suites. His evaluations are augmented with thorough discussions of the instrument for which the suites were conceived and the interpretative practices in Bach's day.

"This edition does not present a perfect reconstruction of the lost autograph; no editor could claim to do so. Instead, I have attempted to provide musicians and scholars with a reliable version of the surviving musical text of the six cello suites and to shed light on the options which the Bach sources offer."

Contains the following pieces: Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007 ; Cello Suite No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1008 ; Cello Suite No. 3 in C Major, BWV 1009 ; Cello Suite No. 4 in E-flat Major, BWV 1010 ; Cello Suite No. 5 in C Minor, BWV 1011 ; Cello Suite No. 6 in D Major, BWV 1012

Publisher ID: BA5257
Instrumentation: Cello

Bach: 6 Cello Suites, BWV 1007-1012

$48.50 CAD
Shipping Info

Shipping services

We do our best to get your order out the door same day when it is in stock. If an item is out of stock, you will see it indicated on the product page before you add it to your cart, or you will be contacted. Most often, we ship with Canada Post but sometimes other carriers like FedEx or UPS are used. If your method of shipping is eligible for a tracking number, this will be emailed to you.

Return policy

We do not offer refunds but may be able to do an exchange or store credit with 14 days of your shipment's arrival. Our full return policy can be found by clicking the link "Shipping & Return Policy" at the bottom of the page.

Get in touch

Contact with any questions about our shipping services.


No more products available for purchase

Your Cart is Empty