This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

Now selling PRS Guitars! *** FREE SHIPPING Ontario on your $50+ Books-Only Order! *** Free Shipping Canada-Wide on your $100+ Books-Only order!

Vivaldi, A. - 12 Violin Concertos 'La Stravaganza' (Op. 4 Vol. 1 I-VI)


Temporarily out of stock but you can still order this item. Typically ships within 6-8 business days, or we will contact you with an estimated ship date.

Composer/Author: Antonio Vivaldi
Editor: Schwemer, Bettina
Publisher: Baerenreiter
Instrumentation: Violin and Piano
Page Count: 177 piano, 52 violin
ISMN: 979000654407
Item Number: BA7566-90

Antonio Vivaldi’s twelve concertos op. 4 known by the name of “La Stravaganza” were first mentioned as a collection of “Concerti a 4” in the 1711 Foreword of “L’Estro Armonico” op. 3. Their publication had to wait until 1716, when Estienne Roger issued them in two volumes of six concertos each. However, unlike the original announcement, “La Stravaganza” is more than a collection of concertos for solo violin with string accompaniment: in five of the concertos the soloist is joined by a second solo violin or even by a solo violoncello (Concerto No. 7).

The many reprints of “La Stravaganza” bear witness to its popularity and widespread dissemination well into the 1730s. Besides the surviving prints, there is a significant body of handwritten sources containing alternative versions for seven of the concertos. Some of these manuscripts stem from the music library of Johann Georg Pisendel.

This edition of “La Stravaganza” is not only the first scholarly-critical edition, it is also the only complete edition available. In addition to the twelve concertos handed down in the Roger edition, Bärenreiter offers an additional concerto in full score, piano reduction and parts contained in the 1728 print issued by the English publishers Walsh & Hare, as well as alternative versions (without viola) found in handwritten sources for Concertos No. 6 (Volume 1) and No. 11 (Volume 2).


Vorwort Preface Facsimiles Preliminary Note on the Piano Reduction Concerto I RV 383a:·     Allegro     Largo
    Allegro Concerto I RV 383 (Alternative version):     Allegro     Largo     Allegro
Concerto I RV 381 (Alternative version, 1st movement):
Concerto II RV 279:     Allegro     Largo     Allegro Concerto II RV 279 (Alternative version):
    Allegro     Largo     Allegro
Concerto III RV 301:     Allegro     Largo     Allegro assai
Concerto III RV 301 (Alternative version):     Allegro     Adagio     Allegro
Concerto IV RV 357:     Allegro     Grave     Allegro
Concerto V RV 347:     Allegro     Largo     Allegro
Concerto VI RV 316a:     Allegro     Largo     Allegro Concerto VI RV 316a (Alternative version: Concerto a quattro):     Allegro     Adagio
    Allegro Concerto VI RV 291 (Walsh & Hare [1728]):    Allegro    Larghetto    Allegro

B105 , 9790006544073 , A100DEPT - B , B205BOOKS - 105 , B903CLASS - 282 VIOLIN REPERTOIRE , B905AUTHOR - VIVALDI A, , B910PUBLISHR - BAERENREITER , B920PUBDATE - 20190319 , B930PRODCODE - 01 , B935VENDITEM - BA7566-90 , B940DISC - 1 , B945INSTR - Violin , TOTRANSFER - W

Vivaldi, A. - 12 Violin Concertos 'La Stravaganza' (Op. 4 Vol. 1 I-VI)

$52.50 CAD
Shipping Info

Shipping services

We do our best to get your order out the door same day when it is in stock. If an item is out of stock, you will see it indicated on the product page before you add it to your cart, or you will be contacted. Most often, we ship with Canada Post but sometimes other carriers like FedEx or UPS are used. If your method of shipping is eligible for a tracking number, this will be emailed to you.

Return policy

We do not offer refunds but may be able to do an exchange or store credit with 14 days of your shipment's arrival. Our full return policy can be found by clicking the link "Shipping & Return Policy" at the bottom of the page.

Get in touch

Contact with any questions about our shipping services.


No more products available for purchase

Your Cart is Empty